Thursday, July 26, 2012

North/South Dakota: Canyon Lake (Rapid City, SD)

North/South Dakota: Canyon Lake Little League (Rapid City, SD)

Thirty-Year History:  Regional Champs (2008), State Champs: 2010, 2008, 2003, 2000, 1998, 1996, 1995, 1993, 1992, 1982

Number of Majors Teams: Eight


Manager: Mike Good

Noah Johnson
Cooper Bowman
Tanner Good
Ian Krump
Brooks Rainwater
Sam Morrison
Will Moore
Kai Torgerson
Connor King
Jack Sorensen
Austin Franke
Brian Petereit

Preview: Canyon Lake is no stranger to Little League success. Although it’s a short road to regionals for the North/South Dakota champion, getting out of Rapid City is tough with rival leagues like Harney around. Canyon Lake is 4-1 so far on the road to Williamsport with victories over Spearfish, South Dakota (17-0), Timberline, South Dakota (10-2), and Fargo, North Dakota (11-3). In the championship game, Canyon Lake dropped a tough 4-3 decision to Rushmore, South Dakota, but bounced back in the “if” game to take the title easily 11-3.  Canyon Lake has been led by solid pitching and defense. Offensively, Canyon Lake puts the ball in play as well as anybody. Connor King struck out 21 batters in his last two starts and belted two homeruns in the winner’s bracket final. He was intentionally walked three times in the championship game.

Canyon Lake opens up the Midwest Regional in Indianapolis against the Missouri state champion. Harney Little League (also from Rapid City) advanced all the way to the Little League World Series a year ago. 

No comments: